Becky May Cosplay – Cosplay Feature

Spiderman has never quite frankly never looked so amazing.  Look it’s a Sunday, I know it’s a naff play on words but seriously. Sunday.  In all seriousness it’s great to see some fantastic UK based cosplayers and that we don’t all have to trek to San Diego every year (but if you want to pay me….just saying), and love Becky’s cosplay.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m 23, brunette, blue eyes and love everything nerdy.  I work in childcare and have always had a passion for costumes.  I use to be a part of an acting group as a young adult which gives me the confidence to act out of character.  I can be loud, I can be quiet but most importantly I just love to have fun 🙂

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I have always had a passion for it and I have enjoyed watching people’s cosplays while growing up.  Ever from a young age I wanted to attend a comic con and at 18 I went for it and first went as Wonder Woman.  I then had a few years out and starting up again this year.  Each time I attend a convention, everyone inspires me with my next cosplay.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

To be honest not at the moment, I do quite a mix of cosplays from Marvel, DC, and Disney.  I have definitely worn more DC and Disney but I tend to gravitate to upcoming and new characters.

 What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

Fortunately I wouldn’t say I have had a challenging cosplay as of yet.  The most enjoyable is a hard question as I love them all, but as of today it would have to be Princess Belle and the children absolutely loved her and seeing their faces light up made by day.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

Mostly I used to buy my outfits but more and more I have started buying parts and turning them into a certain character. Ebay is everyone’s best friend….

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I love them all but I do have to say Birmingham MCM is my favourite at the moment.  It is just close to my house, small but not too small and everyone just has a laugh and really enjoys themselves.  No pressure.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

Mostly children running over to you and asking for a photo, asking you questions believing you are really that character.  Seeing their faces light up when you act like they would and pretend to be that character even if it’s a quick photo. I will never forgot the first time I went to a comic con and a dad came running over saying ‘my little girl loves Wonder Woman, can she please have a photo’ and then seeing this beautiful 4 year old so happy to have a photo with who she thought was Wonder Woman, it just makes the event even more magical.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I’m not going to lie, no.  I love having my photo taken! Might sound self-obsessed but I just love seeing the character come to live through the photos and being able to show my friends and family.  I appreciate the normal ‘hi, can I please take some photos?’

Becky 6

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

So many amazing new friends and adventures that I’m now doing which I would have never had thought.  Being able to attend a comic con and see everyone who doesn’t live by me normally.  Everyone is just one big family.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Do it!!! And don’t let anyone stop you from cosplaying what would love. If it’s male or female and you’re scared…. don’t be! At Comic Con you can be who you want to be… and most importantly,  don’t forget to have fun and enjoy it!

Photograph Credits:

Spider-Man, tiger lily and Supergirl Bunny by Ollie Millington – https://www.facebook.com/Ollie.Millington.Photography
Tiger lily by – Food and Cosplay – https://twitter.com/foodandcosplay?lang=en
The Amazing Spider-Man photo by In2thereview – https://en-gb.facebook.com/in2thereview/

Web Links:

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/beckymaycosplay/
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pg/beckymaycosplay/posts/

Leave a comment