Molecular Agatha – Cosplay Feature

12

When you read an article like “29 reasons you should visit Costa Rica”  you can usually add quite a few more, and in this case, it’s cosplay!  Introducing MolecularAgatha, cosplayer, model, designer and just all round awesome person!

Hi Agatha, many thanks for agreeing to the interview, how are you?

Hello! I’m fine, thank you so much for the interview, I really appreciate it.

Forgive me for being a bit ignorant, but how big is the Cosplay community in Costa Rica?

It’s very big, my country has around 4 events per year related to geek and anime culture; this started since 2004, and the amount of cosplayers increases every year.

The appeal of Cosplay seems to be something of a global phenomena now, why do think there’s been such a massive surge of popularity in Coplay?

I think it’s because you have fun through creativity, also you can meet people from many parts around the world like in my case. You become in your favourite character when you wear the costume and make the cosplay 🙂

You even appeared in cosplay on the pages of Playboy, how did you find out about that, and how did you feel about it?

In my life, I never expected to appear in the Playboy official website, I found that out because a couple of months before of the publication, someone contacted via my Facebook fan page telling me that he was going to recommend my work for some friends who work on Playboy. Then, when the photo was published, someone contacted me again telling me that I was part of a feature in the Playboy official website. Honestly what I felt in that moment was like I could not believe it since I do not consider myself as a “playmate” perfect body type (big boobs, I’m more like a “Loli” type), but I’m glad they liked my work XD .

ZeldaWEB2

You’re a graphic designer too, how much of an insight does that give you not only in to cosplay costumes, but also the presentation of those through photos and web design?

I graduated as a graphic designer, but unfortunately I never worked in my profession.

The job market for graphic design is very little in my country, very few opportunities, almost null. So currently I’m more related with computers, for example technical support. The only thing that graphic design helps me in cosplay is that I’m able to edit my photos and edit the prints sizes.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

When I select a character, I try to select a character where have the physical structure matches mine, for example there are very few comic characters that I would choose because of the size of the body, that’s because I am more an Asian type (thin).

cammy13WEB

What for you have been the most challenging aspects of characters that you’ve cosplayed as?

It depends on the project, sometimes it can be the wig, a helmet, an armour, etc. I have worked many different projects and many of them have had challenging tasks.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

Well, the only memorable reactions are from my followers when they congratulate me for my costumes and cosplay work.

For the most part the cosplay community are fairly respectful, but have there been times when someone has overstepped the mark?

My followers are very respectful, and trolls/haters are minimal. If there is a destructive or insulting comment on my social media I just simply block the person.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

For me it’s not tiring, I love being photographed. That’s what cosplayers are supposed to do, to be photographed. I do not have any preference, just it needs to ask nicely.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

I used to be very shy (Well, I’m still being) so it helps me to develop myself in creativity, self-esteem and for meeting new people (in my case, I have the opportunity to travel to international conventions ) laughing

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Have fun, explore tutorials for creating your own cosplays, and if you do not have time then always ask for help, there’s nothing wrong with that. Be nice with other cosplayers, and go ahead to accomplish all your goals and projects.

2017WEB

Photography Credits:

Subajaku
Steampunk Link By OTR Productions- https://www.facebook.com/OTRProductionsC.R/

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/MolecularAgatha/
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/molecularagatha/
Patreon – https://www.patreon.com/MolecularAgatha
Website – http://molecularagatha.com

Leave a Reply

