OhMySophii – Cosplay Feature

OhMySophii is widely regarded as being a genuinely lovely person and downright brilliant cosplayer, and some of her fans were insistent I should interview her, and yes they were totally right.  I can confirm that OhMySophii is indeed lovely, and her cosplays are pretty damned epic! And here as requested is an interview with OhMySophii J

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

My best friend, Cissa! She took me to my first convention in 2009 and changed my world ☺

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I have so many different areas of interests so I try to keep it as even as possible between comic, video games and anime! I’m planning to do more anime coming up!

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

Most challenging was Bellona! That was the first cosplay that I made every single piece by hand, while on a four week deadline. It was the most stressful time in my life, haha. But I was proud of the results at the time.

It was really enjoyable to wear it for the first time to a convention and realize – I did it!

I saw the following comment on one of your shots as Domino –  “Real knife + clumsy Sophii = scary moment for everyone involved in the capture of this shot”, what happened there?

Haha! So my husband is often my photographer and we had a few real katanas and a knife just for the images. I decided it would be a really cool, Domino-like shot to have all of them in one image – so of course one has to be in my mouth. I was biting into the blade as we took the shots, which took a couple minutes and my arms started getting tired from holding the katanas. My husband could see I was quickly waning, but we had to get the shot! It was an anxious few minutes hahaha!

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

I always start with a list and reference images. What do I need to make? What materials will I need to each piece? Where will I get them from, cost? I always try to make the parts I feel will be most challenging first and then move onto the easier pieces. If there’s armor, I always make that first – it’s my favourite part!

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

The only convention I attend as an attendee each year right now is A-Kon in Fort Worth, TX! That was also the first con I mentioned above – I’ll never miss that con!

I guest at 10-20 conventions a year so outside of A-Kon, I don’t often have time to attend some that I really want too – like GenCon and DragonCon

You’ve got a large fan base, how supportive have they been, and what have been some of the nicest messages you’ve received?

I can never ever ever express how blown away I am by all the fantastic people that follow me and support me. I never expected any of it and I am always trying to find ways to thank them; giveaways, discount codes, shout outs – whatever it maybe!

While I was at O Comic Con in June, I met an awesome girl from my ‘CosLadies Community’ – Sarah – we took a quick selfie and that evening she sent me a message, just the sweetest message, it brought me to tears. It’s crazy to think I’m making a difference to other cosplayers. I hope I’m always a positive influence, I hope I’m always worthy.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

Actually my most memorable reaction was when I went to my very first con. I didn’t know where to start with cosplay so I wore an old Halloween race car girl costume, just to fit in, and the entire weekend the cosplayers at A-Kon complimented me on my cosplay and tried to guess where I was from. Like clearly I was in a Spirit Halloween costume but they all make me feel so included and I will never ever forget that.  I cried when I left Dallas, haha. That’s why I love this community so much.

What sort of reactions did you get from friends and family when they discovered you were a cosplayer?

So much support! My parents and my husband are badasses. They help me with costumes and shoots, share my images. Even my grandparents, haha. They love it!

I have a super close knit group of friends – they come with me to cons and help with my booth and hype me. I am incredibly lucky. I think that’s why I’m so big on ‘SUPPORT IS KEY’ because some creators don’t have big support systems, I couldn’t imagine that. No one should go without support and love from their community. Support is always key to success and having a good time with your craft.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I love photo shoots, so so much but there are definitely times when I am a bit ‘over it’. I don’t love to shoot after a full day on the floor when I’m tired but sometimes there’s not much choice.

I prefer if a photographer approaches me politely, just a simple ‘Here’s a link to my work – we should shoot together!’ Please don’t be pushy.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

It’s changed my life entirely. I don’t really remember what I was doing before cosplay, haha.

With cosplay, I also found my love for marketing and social media consultation. Cosplay gave me a purpose beyond cosplay.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

JUST DO IT! Don’t let anyone discourage you. Try it. Buy your first cosplay, wear it to a con, get some badass shots taken and see how you feel! It’s likely you’ll fall in love and soon be covered in hot glue and acrylic paint!

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/OhMySophii
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/OhMySophii/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/OhMySophii
Patreon – https://www.patreon.com/OhMySophii

Leave a Reply

