Emerald Iris Cosplay – Cosplay Feature

Emily is a fantastic UK Cosplayer, whether it’s her Blastoise Pokémon Gijinka cosplay, or Tharja from Fire Emblem: Awakening.   A huge thank you to Emily for her  time and answering our questions J

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m Emily, one half of Emerald Iris Cosplay. I’ve been cosplaying for about 4 years, however only started really getting into it properly during the past 2 years, where I created Emerald Iris Cosplay with my friend Lauren. Outside of cosplay I’m probably just your typical geeky student!

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

Well when I was going to attend my first ever convention a friend who I was going with said, “You don’t have to dress up… But you might as well.” So I did. Luckily for me, my parents used to go to Star Trek conventions back in the day (complete with their own uniforms) so they helped and supported me with it. Then the con came and it was so much fun and I met so many good people you could say I just caught the cosplay bug!

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I’d say not particularly, I tend to pick my cosplays from characters that I like or are my favourites from the different shows I watch or games I play. Though I must admit I do seem to prefer the more badass characters, they’re just so much fun to try and portray!

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

For the most challenging I’d say it would have to be my two latest cosplays, for two different reasons: One being my Blastoise Pokémon Gijinka – as it was the most fully made cosplay I’ve done and so a test of my skills. The other being my Tharja cosplay from Fire Emblem: Awakening, as she requires a LOT of body confidence and even though I love her character I’d been putting off cosplaying her for a long time for this very reason. It’s hard to pick the most enjoyable as I tend to enjoy all my cosplays, but in terms of comfort, the comfiest cosplays do tend to be the ones from Sports Anime’s, my guilty pleasure cosplays if you will!

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

My advice here is choose your battles. I am terrible at sewing so I do tend to buy the majority of my outfits (apart from cosplays like my Pokémon gijinkas) however any alterations I do myself, mainly until I build my sewing skills up to a standard where I’m happy to use them more for my cosplays. However, I am good at props and I make most of them myself (a basketball for example being the exception), and youtube is essentially your best friend for getting ideas for how to build them (or if you’re lucky like me, your dad is always happy to give advice). I mainly use EVA foam in the builds of my props but for things like my Rem mace it was acquire pieces like the chain and ball off of ebay and working around it to make the finished product!

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

Whilst I do enjoy some of the smaller conventions as they’re a chance to be more social, I would say my favourites are some of the MCM ones! MCM Manchester will always have a special place in my heart as the first convention I ever went too, but my favourite right now is MCM Birmingham, as I just really enjoy it and the atmosphere. What more could you want?

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

Oh I’ve had a few, it’s always so lovely to see someone get so happy or excited when they see you cosplaying a certain character or saying how well you’ve done the cosplay. Even getting some fangirling over your cosplay (which when we did the Hitachiin twins happened a lot). I think my favourite is when people say they start to actually see you as that character, which I’ve heard about my Rem cosplay, which is quite the honour to hear!

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

Oh I am always happy to take photos! As long as you come and ask nicely and aren’t rude about it I’m perfectly happy to pose for pictures! Also for any photographers if you ever have any ideas you’d like to add just ask, for me at least I always want to hear more ideas. Two minds work better than one and a cosplayer and a photographer working together is just that!

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

Honestly it’s given me so much more confidence in myself and I’ve made a lot of good friends through it! I absolutely adore it and plan on continuing to cosplay for a long time!

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

JUST DO IT! It doesn’t matter what your skills are, everyone starts somewhere and you can just build yourself up. It’s a lot of fun so don’t let anything hold you back!

Photography Credits:

Akasuki no Yona/Eeveelution Gijinkas/Code Geass: Nicole Saxon-Bate Photography
Blastoise Pokémon Gijinka: Robert Mann MA Photography
Tharja – Fire Emblem: Awakening: PotatoCam Photography
Rem – Re:Zero : James Bissett Photography

Web Links:

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/littleblueeyess/

Leave a Reply

