Astrobullet – Cosplay Feature

DSC00065-e

I’m always super impressed by cosplayers who build armour so I immediately loved Astrobullet’s handiwork!

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Hi there, I’m Astrobullet. I’m a professional comic book artist, hobbyist maker, and reject biologist. I love art and science, you see, heheh. I’ve been attending conventions for about a decade now, but I’ve been jumping on the cosplay train pretty hard for about three years now, building a couple suits of armor for every year! I always had trouble with fabric, but armor calls my name!

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

Everyone! I attended my first convention in 2007, and when I saw people dressed up as Link and Samus and all these great videogame characters that I love, I knew I wanted to go for it! I’ve never had a huge idol because the community as a whole has inspired me greatly. I am very thankful for those makers such as Evil Ted and Kamui who have made tutorials that have made my work possible! I couldn’t have done what I’ve done without them.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I like to go for the underdogs! The characters no one really wants to cosplay, or no one thinks about cosplaying. Those outfits that not too many have made, so I can feel like that rare find in the convention and not blend in with a crowd of other same characters. There’s a lot of times I get mistaken for another character, but every now and then one big fan will know exactly who I am cosplaying, and we’ll have a special moment of knowing we are strong fans together. This was really awesome when I was Patriot from Young Avengers. Tons of people called me Captain America or Bucky, but a few knew I was Patriot and we would talk a bunch about our fav moments in the series! Cosplaying underdogs also means I have to make as many bits of my outfit from scratch! I love the challenge of starting from zero.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

I feel like all my characters have been challenging, but where’s the fun in easy cosplays? hahah. I wear big armor, lug around big weapons, and can’t even think about taking a bathroom break. I would have to give my most challenging label to Vile from Mega Man X. I need to fit into my body suit, get the armor on top, mount my canon, and hit the show floor in boots too big for walking. People love to see this cosplay though, and so the challenge of wearing this and the payoff of the people’s joy has made Vile my favorite and most enjoyable.

 

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

This is tough, I’ve had some pretty amazing conventions! This year’s SDCC was pretty extraordinary for me, but nothing regarding cosplay; it was a very exciting business trip with lots of company parties hahah. 😉 I think for cosplay, I just adore Wonder Con. It’s just the right size for me to walk around in big armor without bumping into an ocean of people.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

One funny thing I love about wearing my Vile armor is that the Mega Man X fans I usually encounter are now family people. I come across so many parents excited to see a nostalgic character and they have me pose with their kids. It’s so adorable! I even traded my helmet with a tiny Zelda so I could be Princess Vile and she could wear a cool T-Visor helmet.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I don’t get tired at all. There have been a couple occasions where it’s a late night shoot and I tell my photographer my feet are killing me or I’m starving, but I never get tired of shooting or posing. I do my best to keep up. I really love it when I meet a photographer that can help give me some posing tips and explain what kind of shot we’re trying to get. I really appreciate the teamwork!

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

It’s really opened me up to getting to meet people! I tend to be shy and anxious around meeting new people, but every time I put on a suit of armor I feel like I can talk to anyone! I often see people look at me from a distance, or hear them whisper how they like my outfit, and I would love to tell them to come by and say hi! I don’t have to wear my armor anymore to meet new people, but I thank cosplay for being my big stepping stone to making my life brighter!

DSC01859-e

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Just do it! I love the challenge behind making my outfits. The weeks of planning and making all my armor and props are my fun pastime, and it all ends in the sweet pay off of getting to look super cool at conventions hahah. If you need any help, you can always send me a message! 😉 Just look for Astrobullet! I’m here to help!

IMG_3619-EDIT

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/Astrobullet/
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/cosmicammo/
Tumblr – http://astrobullet.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

