Chimeral CosplayArt – Cosplay Feature

When I saw Chimeral Cosplayart I couldn’t believe my eyes, her work is absolutely stunning, her AION cosplay just blew me away.  She was very good to grant us an interview, and luckily her English is a thousand times better than my French!

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Hi, I’m Chimeral CosplayArt, a French cosplayer who discovered cosplay in 2013. It became my main hobby in 2015 and I plan a loooot of projects, events and tutorials ^^ I also draw, play music (violin) and do photography.

COVER Aion
Cosplay vs Reality, Aion cosplay made in 2017

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I started to be interested in Asian culture, manga, Japan, etc … in 2004, after travelling in Taiwan. I played video games since I was a child, I watched and read manga, and I was always fascinated in creating things.

Then I discovered cosplay by searching pictures on the internet (I think it was a cosplay of Calintz from Magna Carta which made me want to look into it). And I participated in my first con in 2013 November and I was charmed by the atmosphere and the universe of cosplay.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

Oh yeah, I love fantasy creatures, dragons, chimeras, wolves, and others. And especially attracted by red outfits. I often made characters never or rarely seen and I think it became a personal style, and people who follow me like it ^.^

Shyvana and projects
Shyvana cosplay from League of Legends made in 2015 (Photographer : Margot McAddams)
Next projects : Harpy from Might&Magic Heroes VI / Lunar Wraith Caitlyn from LoL

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

The most challenging cosplay is the one that I’m making today… A harpy from Might & Magic Heroes VI (image above this paragraph). It’s the first time I had to craft a cosplay in only a few months, there are lots of technical issues and most of thematerials are materials that I’ve never worked with before. So it’s totally a discovery and a real challenge for me. It’s really interesting.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

First, I search for lots of reference images of my character.
Then I think about all the materials and technics to use, and see if it is possible to craft.
I make drawings with measurements and notes
I make patterns at the real size on paper or low cost fabrics
And after that, I can start to craft with definitive materials, make fasteners and painting.

One of my Cosplay video tutorial on YouTube (in french with english sub)

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I don’t really have a favourite con, but I can speak about two con that I really like. This year, I’m in a hurry to go to “Another Convention” (Loire – France) because it’s the Con I organise with my Cosplay Association each year. And the TGS Toulouse Game Show (Toulouse- France) for the final of the French Cosplay Cup 2017 where I am selected 😍 It will be a crazy experience !
selection CFC 2017

Aion cosplay (asmodian – Mastarius set) made in 2017 for French Cosplay Cup selections
Photographer : Dioudz San

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

Yes, with my Shyvana cosplay (half-dragon from the game League of Legends), children are really impressed and sometimes afraid, and it’s funny to see their reactions xD With my last cosplay from AION, it was completely different, two little girls asked me for an autograph because they wanted to collect names of all the princesses from the con. Really cute ❤

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

Finding a photographer is very important to me, to keep a memory of my costumes and to develop the role play of the character thanks to pictures and photo editing (because the cosplays chosen are always characters I love or who are part of my favourite games). I’d rather find a photographer who agrees to work outside a convention to think about the project seriously. Photos in convention are good memories but you can’t choose the background and can’t take the time you need.

However, as long as a photographer asks for my permission to take pictures during a convention, I gladly accept. It just necessary to be at a minimum, polite.

IMG_4764

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

Today, cosplay is my main hobby, I spend a lot of time crafting, but I admit that drawing and making music miss me, and I have soooo many video games in late xD

Cosplay allows me to share my passion for creation, meet awesome people who like video games, comics and mangas, and allows me to be less shy. I had never believed I would go on stage one day… and to love this :’D

Inori 12

Inori cosplay made in 2014 (Photographer : Doldi C.)

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Yes, if you want to make your first cosplay and think “I will never manage to do that”, understand that all cosplayers learn to craft. We are not born with a gift. If you like creation, and choose a character that you love, just try and learn from your errors. Take your time, and learn thanks to the internet, today you can find lots of tutorials and tips for free. I made few video tutorials on Youtube but you will find a thousand of other cosplayers who have shared their experience.

And never forget that Cosplay is for fun ! Do what YOU want, listen to constructive advice and ignore haters. Because they are everywhere but they should never prevent you from doing what you want.
*** Let’s craft ! ***

Left : Sice&Nine cosplay from Final Fantasy Type0 made in 2016 by Chimeral / Photographer : Nicolas Meunier
Right : Yuna cosplay from Final Fantasy X-2 in 2013 / Photographer : Chimeral Photography

Web Links:

Website – http://www/chimeral-cosplayart.com
Facebook – https://www/facebook.com/chimeralart
Youtube – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvUD6QL7wF3k_Ojj34EiseA
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/chimeral_cosplayart/

Leave a Reply

