Paris Burns Cosplay – Cosplay Feature

Paris has a wicked sense of humour (as evidenced by naming a cat Empurror Palpawtine which is just bloody awesome by the way) and it’s been an honour in having her agree to be featured here on The Junction UK!

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m from Perth, Western Australia. I am passionate about cosplay and animal welfare. I work at a cat shelter where I get a kick out of giving cats pop culture pun names, like Samuel L Catson, Dumbleclaw and Empurror Palpawtine.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I was first inspired to cosplay while reading Kick Ass. I love Hit-Girl so much and just wanted to be the character. I also tried to take up martial arts and throwing knives to be more like her, but that didn’t work out as well.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I find myself drawn to fun characters with simple, classic designs. With these characters I feel like I have the freedom to be creative and add details that bring them to life, while still having them be instantly recognizable.

 

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

The biggest challenge I ever had while cosplaying was actually leaving the house dressed as Power Girl! It was the first time in cosplay, and in my own life, that I had worn such little clothing in public. But through the character I found myself feeling empowered and strong. For that reason Power Girl would be my most enjoyable as well, any time I don’t know what outfit to wear to a convention, I put on Power Girl and have such a good time.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

When starting a new cosplay I start with hair and make-up. For me it is the most enjoyable part and once I feel like I have nailed it I am inspired to get working on the rest of the costume. When it comes to constructing the costume I always start with the hardest part. If I can get through making the most difficult thing the rest seems easy.

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I love attending Oz Comic Con each year in Perth, they have amazing facilities for cosplayers. My favourite convention experience of all time would be the first convention that I cosplayed at in 2013. I was dressed as Hope Summers from X-Men and everyone was so encouraging. I also got to meet Carrie Fisher so it will always be special to me.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

The most memorable reaction to one of my costumes was the first time I wore Power Girl. Another cosplayer, Themysciran Daughter, stopped me for a photo. She was dressed as Lois Lane and we instantly bonded over our love for DC Comics. We have been friends since and I just love the way cosplay brings us weirdos together!

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

Photographers, never stop. We love you.

Honestly it is such a joy to have the opportunity to have my costumes captured by so many amazing photographers. I love taking photos and selfies with convention goers to. All it takes is manners and I’m in. I’m clearly not camera shy!

 What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

Before cosplay I am not too sure what I did with my spare time (or my money!) Cosplay brings me so much joy every day. To have something I can think about and create each day is truly magical. Whether it’s cosplay, photography, drawing or whatever, I think finding your passion, that thing you don’t have to force yourself to do, is a life changing experience for anyone.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

My advice for anyone considering cosplay is to jump in and do it.

I want to see your progress photos!

If the idea of cosplay makes you nervous, try picking a character with attitudes and personality you want to embody. When you put on the costume you will feel it.

Photography courtesy of:

8Bit & Over – https://www.facebook.com/8bitandover/
Luke Milton Photography – https://www.facebook.com/LukeMiltonPhotography/

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/parisburnscosplay/
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/parisburns/

Leave a Reply

