Helena Lou Cosplay – Cosplay Feature

Helena2

Introducing Helena Lou, a UK based cosplayer who does some brilliant crossplay and mashups.  Like a number of cosplayers, Helena fell into doing cosplaying without realising it but now loves being part of an awesome community.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Hello! Right myself: I am Helen, I’m 37 and have been cosplaying now for a few years. I enjoy all sorts of different cosplay, from crossplay to mashups.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

My friends and relationships got me into cosplay and the convention scene, then I was definitely hooked!

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I think my first main cosplay was a Jack Nicholson 1920s gangster Joker!  So I literally jumped in with both feet first as a crossplay and mashup…this was before I even knew what these things where. I just have always loved dressing up and being different. I always cosplay a character I know whether from TV or film or comics and like to cosplay characters I feel something, a connection for.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

Some of my most challenging cosplays have been the crossplay, trying to really look like the character. I have enjoyed all my cosplays, but I guess some of my most  enjoyable ones have been the well received ones or the ones I have had fun with friends in, such as Blackcat, my steampunk Loki or as a big group such as when I did a my little pony playboy bunny.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

I don’t really have a costume making process as such, I just kinda make sure I have everything I need and lots of pictures and research and just get on with it. Half the time I don’t even try on my costumes until I have finished them, but it seems to work so I go with the flow!

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

My convention highlights have definitely been where I have meet most of my friends and had a laugh, from the big ones such as MCMs in London and Birmingham, to others like Edgbaston and Telford.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

My biggest memorable reaction I can think of is quite recent. I was dressed as Seymour from Little shop of Horrors the film and a couple of friends who have know me for a year or so didn’t even realise it was me until I said, so I guess I must have been doing a good job! I also love it when you have a cosplay that kids love and want pictures with, that’s really nice too.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I was always really camera shy before and it took me a while to get used to having my picture taken, and posing. But actually I am very happy to have my photo taken and am actually flattered that people want pictures! As long as they ask I am quite happy

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

The impact that cosplay has had on my life is very hard to put into worlds. My body confidence has completely changed for the better because of it, and my social life too. It’s one of the best things in the world to have happened to me.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Just do it…start of small if you want, with fancy dress..I did. Take friends first if you can, but if not you will soon make friends. Before you know it you will be a regular and never regret it

Photographs courtesy of:

HorrifyMe – http://www.horrify.me.uk/HorrifyMe/index.asp

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/helenalou37/

Leave a Reply

