GlitterrStorm – Cosplay Feature

Who in this world does not appreciate Deadpool!?  Who could possibly resist a Deadpool cosplay?  Well, we definitely can’t!  We loved GlitterrStorm’s rendition of it and wanted to find out more.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

My name is Haley, I’m 21 years old, studying game design in college. I am a writer, PC gamer, streamer, and I’ve recently fallen in love with cosplay. I’m actually quite new to it! I’ve only done two simple cosplays, but I’m already working on more advanced ones!

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

Myself! I remember being interested in cosplay long before I actually tried it. It didn’t seem like something that I could do. I didn’t have the knowledge or the money for it, I didn’t even think that I had the right body shape for it based on the cosplays that I had seen. As I got older I gained confidence and decided to just go for it. So glad that I did 🙂

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I always lean towards the assassin types. I’m a quite nice person in everyday life, and I tend to wear a lot of skirts and dresses already, so it’s really fun to explore the more badass side of myself.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

I’m working on an Ahri cosplay from League of Legends right now, it is a serious challenge. Unlike most Ahri cosplays, I’m trying to make her tails *huge*, like they look in her portrait. I like to dream big 🙂  As far as enjoyable goes, my Deadpool cosplay takes the cake. It’s tons of fun to go to cons and act crazy with all of the other Deadpools!

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

Sure! The first thing I do is make a list of everything I need, then plan on how to make the more difficult parts. When I get the general idea, I first look online for affordable parts that I can integrate into the costume, even if it needs some adjusting. It’s sometimes much easier to buy a part and modify it than to make something from scratch! If I can’t find anything similar to what I’m looking for, then I break out the crafts and start forming the piece myself.

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

Phoenix Comic Con is tons of fun! I go every year and it’s always a blast. It’s big enough to have tons of variety and fun people, but not so big that it’s incredibly crowded and people keep bumping into my cosplay. That’s always stressful for me!

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

I haven’t seen too many big reactions, but I had someone tell me how much they appreciate all of the small details I added into my cosplay. That was really nice.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

Never! I love it when a photographer approaches me, it makes me feel like all of my hard work has been noticed. Besides, I spend forever getting ready for cons, it’s nice to have a few good pictures to take home! Although I do sometimes feel bad for the photographers, because I usually pose really awkwardly. Still working on that. As long as they’re not rude, I’m happy!

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

I’ve met a few really good friends while cosplaying, it’s definitely encouraged me to get out more! And it’s also a great creative outlet. I mean come on, combining fashion, nerdiness, and badass props?! It’s a dream come true.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

If you’re interested in it, just try it! Everyone has to start somewhere, I bet a lot of people knew less than you when they tried cosplaying for the first time! I remember being afraid of cosplay before I tried it because I thought the community wasn’t very accepting. I thought people would judge my cosplay because I didn’t have the right body type, or because the details weren’t spot on. But it’s not like that at all, the cosplay community is full of supportive people. It doesn’t have to cost a lot either! Just dive in!

Web Links:

Website – http://peenation.weebly.com/cosplay.html
Twitch – www.twitch.tv/GlitterrStorm

Leave a Reply

