Caz Phoenix Cosplay – Cosplay Feature

We were delighted to get the chance to interview Caz Phoenix, because honestly, I’m always blown away by Cosplayers who go for characters with wings. Caz’s look phenomenal.  Read on to find out more.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Hey so I’m Caz, not much to tell really!  I work an office job but it funds my creative hobbies which are Cosplay, Pole Fitness and I’m currently learning how to play the Violin and Piano.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I have followed Cosplayers online for years, I don’t know why I didn’t start doing this sooner! My first major cosplay crush was Vampy Bit Me. She is gorgeous. I have always loved making a real effort for Halloween, fancy dress parties, and I have a fashion degree so I guess it all came together with Cosplay!

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

Characters I can have fun with! I guess the loveable “bad guy” is my thing. I do a femme Loki, Hitcher from the Mighty Boosh who is just daft as anything, and I’m working on a Ganondorf at the moment.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

Most challenging… either my Lady Loki as it was a learning curve with Eva Foam i’ll be completely honest and it is due an upgrade! Building wise, My Princess Celestia My Little Bunny… I decided 2 weeks before con that I wanted giant articulated wings…. and I made them and they are my proudest make to date!!

Most enjoyable…. princess celestia for the Wow factor with my wings… but for general having fun, has to be The Hitcher! We had no idea how these cosplays would go down (my friend did Spirit of Jazz) and we were blown away with how FUN it was and how many people literally ran up to us wanting a pic. Truly humbling. So much fun!

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

Ok so I don’t know if this is my fashion background, but I have a cosplay sketchbook. I print off my ref material (old school I know), do some sketches, do a lot of pondering and daydreaming at my desk job, and then I start to just get on with it. I have pattern cut things from scratch, I have glued bits of foam together hoping it will turn out ok. There is no set way I do things but luckily they seem to work! I think put WIP pics and final pics in my sketchbook as I feel inspired flicking through it if I’m having a day with little motivation

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

My favourite ones are any my friends are at. Seems cheesy, but seeing all your cosplay buddies and getting to see their new cosplays in the flesh, or chatting to a photographer you haven’t seen since last con really makes it for me. I love Birmingham MCM and Comics festival, mainly because its central and most of “the crew” are at these ones. It’s great to catch up. I went to London MCM for the first time this year and I LOVED it! But I prefer the size and intimacy of the slightly smaller ones.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

When I wore Princess Celestia to Leicester Comic Con, I had so many little girls come up to me for photos and then later on as they were passing by they’d be all shy and their mums would say something along the lines of “Sorry she’s a little bit obsessed with you” and it was just so cute. I went in the masquerade and got honourable mention that day I was so happy.

Also the reaction to our mighty boosh cosplays as mentioned.

We did a burlesque Harley and joker which went down really well, need to bring them out to play again soon!

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

No it does not get tiring! Maybe at London, we had 5 shoots in a row in the sun, that was tough, but generally, no, by all means take my photo! Just can we swap cards so I can see after?

As long as people are polite and don’t sneak up during a pre arranged shoot I don’t mind. Like, dude, I will pose specifically for you just give me 5 you don’t need to snipe 🙂

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

It’s amazing! It gives me my little escape from reality, not just at con, but at home making everything. I love it. And I love the people I have met. I have mate some truly remarkable, crazy and fun friend these last 2 years and I think that is the best thing I’ve taken from this whole thing!

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Just do it! It doesn’t matter if you don’t look like someone, if you buy, if you make, if you are a certain race, sex, size, WHATEVER! Just do it!

Web Links:

Facebook – www.facebook.com/cazphoenixcosplay
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/cazphoenixcosplay/

Leave a Reply

