Emazing Grace – Cosplay Feature

Cyber Quinn

Emma is a brilliant cosplayer, a prolific one too who doesn’t just stick to one or two costumes.  It seems there is no character that she can’t do!

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Hi, I’m Emma. I work most days in a sandwich shop but also model for artists and photographers. I’m also very much a crafter and prop maker.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I was invited along to Birmingham MCM by my dear friend Cara, who was going dressed up and because I didnt wish to feel left out, I created Princess Aura from Flash Gordon, however Ive always liked dressing up since being a child and have also done so for photographers and artists. I havent enough wardrobe space for all my costumes haha.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

Due to my best friend being a HUGE Batman fan and in particular Harley Quinn, we always team up and I’m normally Poison Ivy or Joker to go with her Harley, and always with our own spin on the characters.

 

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

The most challenging aspect of a costume was the light up hammer for my Cyber Quinn, as getting the components together was nigh on impossible. It survived one con and has since broken. All my characters though, I have enjoyed making and crafting bits for. They all have my own spin to them and a lot of fellow cosplayers appreciate that and the workmanship gone into each one, because they know it’s an original concept.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

I very rarely sketch an idea…its only recently since being a part of the Cosplay Bunny UK group and being in charge of Chaque Lapin, that I have started sketching ideas, but for me I tend to find items in pound stores or charity shops and  form a costume to incorporate it, or its items I’ve already got in my collection. Such as my Daria, I already had some of her costume to hand (the skirt is my old PE skirt and the glasses I originally used for my minion). My imagination is always going and forming ideas and I’ll research pictures and then go away to create my own twisted design.

 

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

The smaller events tend to be the better ones, such as Edgbaston, as you get to see your friends more. It is very well organised, has a quiz and afterparty. However I do enjoy the larger events such as London and Birmingham MCM as the guests are always good, there’s always a gathering afterwards, of friends and strangers yet to become friends, at the bar. This always leads to a brilliant atmosphere and a fantastic ending to any day.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

There’s been a couple. I wore Fem Jack Skellington and Colin Baker said ‘you’re looking very ill’. I wore Daria at the Cardiff Expo and one of the stall holders was so excited to see me, he was lost for words. But the best, I was wearing my latex version of Sally Jupiter, Silk Spectre by Phoenixx Designs UK, and as I walked past a cosplayer, he mumbled under his breath. When asked what he said, he replied with ‘and she turned round and the view was even better’ made me laugh so much and we’ve been friends ever since. Suppose it depends on your sense of humour, as I know a few may find that to have been on the tad creepy side.

 

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

Photographers who approach and ask permission are great, Thumbs up to all of them who have the manners and ask. The ones who pip a photo over someone else’s shoulder get shouted and picked up on it and are made to feel embarrassed. Even if a photographer doesn’t know the character but still wants a picture, great! As it means they think you’ve done an awesome job on your costume and are an excellent subject to photograph. Point and click photographers do annoy me a little, as they tend not to have cards or walk off before I can give them mine, and so looking for the pics after an event can be really hard. Also if a cosplayer is sitting down eating, don’t snipe a photo, ask to take one first, as no-one wants to have a picture taken when they’re shovelling a foot long subway in their mouths….unless you’re an Avengers group in a kebab hut.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

A large one, I need to stop hoarding costumes….running out of wardrobe space fast! Seriously though, cosplay has helped me understand my friends better, has helped me become more of an extrovert. Has helped me make more friends and has simply given me something to do during afternoons and evenings, whether it’s making my own or bits for someone else.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Do it! I was lucky to have someone come along with me, so that really helped. But even if it’s a simple costume like Daria to the most extravagant armour plated Warhammer Space Wolf, do it! It helps ease social anxiety, as you are approached by fellow cosplayers interested in what you’re wearing or it may help knowing you’re in a disguise and can approach people as that character….like Deadpool. Be your own superhero for the day and be proud you’re part of a huge supporting community of geeks, nerds and fans.

Photographs Courtesy of:

UnmadeSugar Cosplay Edits – Cyber Quinn

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/grasanhygoel/

Leave a Reply

