That Girl Is Poison – Cosplay Feature

tgipi1

A cosplayer and a metal head (Delain!!), double win!  Courtney is the latest fantastic cosplayer to answer our questions!

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Hi, I’m Courtney, a beautiful disaster.  I go to school at Bloomsburg University and am currently studying digital forensics.  During the school year I work IT for my school and during breaks I either take the time off or get a different job.  I have a guinea pig named Teemo who is my baby and recently adopted a cat named Morgana with my boyfriend.  My hobbies are cosplaying, streaming, and gaming.  I’m a total metalhead and love seeing my favorite band, Delain, live whenever they come to the US.  My favorite museum is the Mutter Museum in Philadelphia and I also love visiting the Kawaii Kitty Cafe.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I don’t know if I had any specific person that inspired me to cosplay.  When I was in middle school I started getting into anime and video games and really wanted to dress up like all the cool characters I saw.  I saw it as a sort of creative outlet.  I’ve always been very artsy and was into painting and drawing all throughout high school.  As I started getting into the scene I’ve found a number of people who produce high quality cosplays that I want to emulate.  I particularly love Kamui cosplay for writing all the books that she does.  They’ve really helped me as a total n00b.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I really like badass women and men.  People that are strong and smart and don’t give a damn what others think about them.  I guess that’s because that’s sort of what I want to be like.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

The most challenging character so far has been the MeMeMe cosplay that I’m currently working on.  I don’t have the money for a serger (fancy sewing machine for sewing stretchy fabric) so I’ve been having a rough go trying to sew stretchy fabrics on my very basic sewing machine.  The most enjoyable character has been Jinx from League of Legends.  Even though I don’t play League anymore I really like the character as sort of a crazy loose cannon.  The boudoir Jinx photos I have are absolutely some of my favourite photos of me.

tgipi2

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

It really depends on the outfit.  Since I just finished A2 I guess I’ll go through that.  I couldn’t find any patterns that I liked so I decided to buy a dress and shorts in the fabric that I wanted on Amazon and cut that into the shapes that I wanted.  I actually bought all but the fabric paint and thread on Amazon.  Once all the cutting and sewing was done I painted on the design on A2’s shirt.  The material that I used was challenging to sew but other than that it was a pretty simple cosplay.  I think that just about anyone would be able to do it.  For the MeMeMe cosplay I’m currently working on I bought all the fabric at Joann’s and have been basing the dress pattern off a YouTube video that I found.  As I said before the fabric has been really challenging to work with but I’m sure I’ll be able to figure it out.

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I’ve only ever been to one convention so far and that was Magfest 2017.  The cosplay I tried to make specifically for the convention got scrapped and I was so disheartened that I didn’t actually wear any cosplays at all to the con.  Nevertheless I had an amazing time and will be returning to Magfest 2018, hopefully this time as a cosplayer!  I would love to go to more cons and meet up with my fans but I unfortunately don’t have the money.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

As I have not worn my costumes out there haven’t really been any reactions.  I have gotten lots of responses when I post them to Reddit/Imgur, some good and some bad.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I’ve only ever worked with one photographer and I approached her.  She’s a real sweetheart and I love taking photos with her.  We’re actually good friends and play Dungeons and Dragons together every other week.  Show her some love on Facebook as Jennifer Dorman Photography!  Despite how easy it looks modeling is actually quite difficult and after a couple hours I’m usually pretty spent and ready to relax.  I’d be delighted to work with other photographers though.  I respond to every single PM I get on every single platform I’m active on so don’t be shy to just send me a message!

tgipi3

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

I can’t really say the impact cosplaying has had on my life, though I certainly know the impact it’s had on my wallet!  It’s just this hobby that I sort of fell into and love more and more as time goes on.  I love meeting fans, though I never expected to have any fans.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

My advice is to just do it.  I started with 0 experience buying my costumes on Etsy or from random Chinese websites and then sewing them to fit me better.  Now I’m making my own stuff!  Everybody starts somewhere so if you’re worried you don’t have the talent just do it.  Try something.  Even if it doesn’t work out – and believe me I’ve had things not work out – you’ll learn something for next time.  If you’re worried that you don’t have the body for it, stop!  I definitely don’t have the booty or the boobs that a lot of other girls have but that doesn’t stop me from strutting my stuff.  Cosplay is for everyone!

If you all would like to contact me or follow my social media, here are some links.  I stream regularly on Twitch and am a Twitch affiliate so stop by some evening and say hello!

Photos courtesy of – Jennifer Dorman Photography

Web Links: 

Twitch – www.twitch.tv/thatgirlispoisonxo
Instagram – www.instagram.com/thatgirlispoisonxo
Facebook – www.facebook.com/itcourtney

Leave a Reply

