Scarlette Cosplay – Cosplay Feature

wonder-woman-1

We got a little excited, ok a lot excited, with the prospect of the new Wonder Woman film. With all the reboots, remakes or whatever you want to call them, this was one franchise sorely needing updating.  Quite by chance we then discovered the amazing Samantha Wheeldon and her brilliant Wonder Woman cosplay!

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Sure! My name is Samantha and I`m a Canadian cosplayer from Vancouver BC. I work as a character/prop designer for children cartoons. I started cosplaying in 2011 as a side hobby to my day job.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

Well, a good friend of mine actually got me into the whole thing. We met in animation school, she saw my Halloween costumes and asked if I wanted to be a part of her Avatar the Last Airbender cosplay group. Then it kind of took off from there! haha I had so much fun and I was hooked. I mean I always loved Halloween and this was just an excuse to make costumes all year round! AMAZING.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I tend to cosplay characters that I had a nostalgic/emotional connection with or who inspire me personally. A lot of Disney characters haha. Disney clasic animation is what inspired my career choice.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

Hard to say they all have their unique challenges. Elsa from Frozen was challenging because of her ice corset/shoes. I remade those shoes and top about 4 times haha it became a running joke. Tali from Mass Effect was also challenging with her helmet and character specific swirls. She was also my first major project and I made everything on that cosplay from scratch. Even made my own vacuum form machine to curve the PETG plastic visor.

Most enjoyable would be Elsa and Wonder Woman. Kids LOVE Elsa and it was just so great to see their reactions. Same with Wonder Woman surprisingly. hahaha I had one mom freak out over seeing me and her little daughter had to apologise for her moms excitement. So funny it was like a role reversal.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

This is a little hard to answer since all cosplays are different and require different processes. Simply put, research references, print out photos, draft pieces, collect materials, keep moving forward! Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, what do we do we swim, swim, swim!

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

Probably my first PAX or Emerald City Comic Con. So much talent to see. Its always amazing how far cosplay has come. I love meeting people and just geeking out over common interests.

Photography credits:

Wonder Woman 1 – https://www.facebook.com/BritanyQuinnPhotography/
Wonder Woman 2- https://www.facebook.com/thefreelancerport/
Captain America – https://www.facebook.com/euphoriclandings/

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/scarlettecosplay/

Leave a Reply

