Oscuro Lupo – Cosplay Feature

Harley Quinn is just one of those striking characters that it’s easy to see why people choose to cosplay as.  Our latest awesome cosplayer is no exception, Oscuro Lupo!

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

My name is Amber and I am a student of Paleontology. I draw and play video games in my spare time and love creating.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I was inspired to cosplay by the many Resident Evil Cosplayers over on deviantart.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I generally go towards the strong female types, and the ‘bad guys’. I feel like I can relate more to the baddies than the good people.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

The most challenging is my Lupo cosplay from Resident Evil. It took a lot of remaking to get that costume perfect. The most enjoyable is my newest cosplay, Harley Quinn from Batman Arkham City.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

I purchase some of my pieces online and usually craft the rest. I am horrible at sewing so I do a lot of commissioning of others.

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I enjoyed the Saboten Con in Arizona most, because it was always full of beautiful cosplayers, an amazing photographer who I always met up with, and had the most interesting panels.

14067614_1005163362929954_780485878683928826_n

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

I always get happy when children want photos with my costumes, but the most memorable was wearing my Lupo cosplay at Phoenix Comic Con and having people scream ‘Wolfmother’!

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I prefer to be asked for photos, and have never really found it difficult to pose for photographers. All the photographers I’ve worked with, minus two of them, have been amazing. Posing comes naturally to me so it’s an easy thing.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

Cosplaying has gotten me a ton of friends, inspiration, and has impacted me both positively and negatively. The positives are what I mentioned, friends, fans and inspiration, and the negative being the bad parts of the community and dealing with haters.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

I would recommend taking your time with your costumes, and not stressing about other people’s stuff. Who cares if you cosplay the same thing! Have fun!

Web Links:

Facebook – http://facebook.com/oscurolupo
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/oscurolupo
Twitter – https://twitter.com/oscurolupo

One comment

Leave a Reply

