Blazey Chan – Cosplay Feature

13423949_478917245631168_8633687220653623457_n

We found Blazey Chan through some pretty epic Godoka cosplay shots and had to find out a little bit more about her.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

My name is Blaze Barber, but my cosplay name is Blazey Chan. I am 18 years old and live on the east coast.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I’ve been inspired to cosplay by the lovely Dust Bunny cosplay. I look up to her for all I do.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I love magical girls and sweet characters. The cinnamon roll of all shows. I can’t tell you why to be honest. Maybe I see myself in them?

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

Probably Godoka. Godoka had this really hard wings to style, then I had to find a way to get the wig styled and not have it tangle in the wings. But I love my Godoka cosplay so much as well as Krul from Owari no Seraph and Lucy from Fairy Tail.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

Well some of them are bought. But the ones I did make involved a lot of trips to the thrift store. I’d combine clothing to make a fitting outfit for said character by cutting or painting said items.

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I attend Nashi con in Columbia, SC as well as Banzai con in the same area. I also really loved Animazement in Raleigh, NC.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

I had someone at Animazement hand me a little card that said “your cosplay is amazing! Have a great con.” And it was the sweetest thing. I’ve also have two kids come up to me and jump up and down with joy.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I prefer a photographer as me kindly to have my picture taken, and be respectful no matter the answer. My best friend is my photographer, her page is : Fox dreams photography and commissions on Facebook. She makes it incredibly fun. I love posing so it’s never tiring for me.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

It makes me confident. It gives me a reason to love myself in all aspects. I can take my life and turn it into another one completely. And I love the attention it gets me to be honest.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Shoot for the stars! Anything you wanna do, do it! If you want to go against the boundaries, do it. You can cosplay anything you want. If anyone tells you otherwise, they’re wrong. End cosplay hate.

Photographs courtesy of https://www.facebook.com/FoxDreamProductions/ 

Web Links:

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/thedappermuffin/
Facebook –  www.facebook.com/blazeitchan
Or – www.facebook.com/Thedappermuffin

Leave a Reply

