Alexandria The Red – Cosplay Feature

Alexandria The Red pulled off an awesome Poison Ivy that leaves Uma Thurman trailing in her wake, and it’s not often you get to say that!  She is also a California Published model and Cosplayer Geek extraordinaire!  We are wondering though how the wedding is going to be done for Alexandria and her fiance, the idealic white dress in a beautiful country church, or is it going to be a cosplay fest.  Either way, it’ll be a brilliant day for them both and we wish them well.  In the meantime however, here is our interview with Alexandria.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m Alexandria the Red. I’m 23 years old and I’m from Southern California. I would describe myself as a model, cosplayer, seamstress, and Internet personality.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I think that I’ve always had an interest in cinematic costuming. It was the first thing I noticed about films growing up. Once I realized that cosplay existed, it seemed natural to try to emulate the characters and costumes I loved so much.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I tend to gravitate toward villainous types since it’s the opposite of my personality. It’s fun to play bad guys sometimes!

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

My most challenging costume to construct was my Elsa cosplay. I hand cut and sewed thousands of beads and sequins for the bodice. The most challenging to wear is my Hutt slayer Leia bikini. It’s very unforgiving! I would say that I enjoy my time in all of my costumes pretty equally.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

I usually start with the idea. It’s a tingly feeling I get when I see a certain character and think to myself, “I need to become this amazing creature.” Then I conduct my own form of research, which includes scouring the Internet for reference photos. I am lucky to have the convenience of the Downtown LA fabric district which offers wholesale fabrics. There are blocks of nothing but fabric and notions stores. I pick up my supplies and take them back to my lair. The actual constriction is a lot of trial and error and self-teaching. Patience is a useful skill.

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I really enjoy local conventions because I see so many familiar faces. I particularly love Wondercon (which moved to Anaheim from San Francisco). It was the first convention I ever attended, in 2012.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

The reactions that come from children are the best. They truly believe that I am Queen Elsa. The look that a child gives you, when they think you’re their hero, is unforgettable.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I love what I do, or I wouldn’t do it so much. That being said, I’m usually good to go for two solid hours of shooting. Any more and my energy starts to fade and I need a little break. I tend to work with photographers based upon their portfolios and accessibility.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

Before I discovered cosplay I was pretty low key about my love for geeky things. It gave me a creative outlet and helped me come out of my shell. I’m much more self assured because of cosplay. I also met my fiancé through cosplay!

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

My advice is not to let anyone define what cosplay means for you. You get to decide your own definition. And that’s a wonderful thing!

Web Links:

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Alexandriathred 
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/alexandriathered/?hl=en
Youtube – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCB6XenjaetvmtpZmsGkS3yw

Leave a Reply

