Germia – Cosplay Feature

 

Our search for excellent cosplayers takes us to the Czech Republic, and Germia.  The first example of her work that we saw was a Paladin costume and it was pretty epic.  Germia was lovely in graning us an interview, read on..

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I am female gamer playing for multiclan eSuba and (predominantly gaming) cosplayer and graphic artist 25 years old living in Czech Republic, Central Europe.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I love strong and often dark female characters, that are sexy in a decent, not-naked way and I think they really suit me – Demon Hunter from Diablo 3, Vayne from League of Legends, Paladin from Might&Magic Heroes VII.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

I have two most challenging costumes – My Demon Hunter costume is my second costume and first armor and it really showed people what I can do and I was very afraid to do such a big project as my second cosplay. My costume of Paladin from Might and Magic Heroes is my most challenging costume so far – I loved working on this and it was something I wanted to do for a long time. I never expected how well it would be embraced in the community and it’s the costume I’m most proud of now.

 

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

Every costume requires something else, but when I’m making a costume, I’m making a lot of pictures and videos and posting them frequently on my facebook page (and instagram, twitter,..) and when the costume is done, I write always article about how it was done step-by-step on my blog: http://aimreg.blogspot.cz/search/label/Cosplay%20portfolio

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

As I’m cosplaying only for two years, I was only on conventions in Czech Republic and Poland, but most enjoyable were for me Animefest 2016 and Road to Blizzcon 2015. Road to Blizzcon had such an awesome atmosphere, I met a lot of my future friends and enjoyed my frist international event. Animefest is the best convention on Czech Republic and you can really feel, that the organizers are making it not for money, but for the fun and for the people in community.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

Surprisingly it’s a reaction regarding my least challenging cosplay so far – Clover from Payday 2. It was the first time someone, who takes care of the game itself contacted me and praised my work. If you’re noticed from developers, graphic artists, producers or other people, that made the game you’re cosplaying, it is such a great feeling. Overkill studio did it and I suddenly felt like you and your work matters. That was the best!

 

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I’m always posing for photographers when I have time and energy to do so 🙂 On cons, I prefer to be asked before taking pictures of me, via internet I prefer when the photographer presents his work first and asks me if I’m interested to work with him and we can talk about conditions of our photoshoot.

Germia 1

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

It changed a big chunk of my live, I spend my time differently, I meet new people, I make something, that is worth a while. It is something I never expected and cosplay actually brought me into representing my country in Eurocosplay finals, something a cosplayer dreams of and it’s now one of my main activities, that fulfil me.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

If you’re making something you really like, you choose fitting characters for you and you make your cosplays well, than go for it, you’ll be a great cosplayer! If you want to make it just for fun in your free time, there are no limitations for you 🙂

Photos by

Milosmladyphotography – https://www.facebook.com/milosmladyphoto/

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/DATgermia
Youtube – https://www.youtube.com/c/datgermia
Twitch – http://www.bogs.tv/datgermia/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/datgermia

Leave a Reply

