KyraKitsune – Cosplay Feature

Our search to bring you awesome cosplayers has taken us to Germany and the brilliant KyraKitsune.  To find out more about this brilliant cosplayer read on.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Nice to meet you !
I am KyraKitsune a german cosplayer and streamer and I cosplayed for the first time in 2014, however I started to create my own costumes in 2015. Hopefully I can be of help with my following answers 🙂

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

Back in 2014 a friend of mine, who was an enthusiastic cosplayer asked me whether I’d like to cosplay with her together. Sadly we didn’t cosplay together until now, but she was the one to get me started haha

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I really like strong and independent female characters the most, like Erza Scarlet of Fairy Tail for example !

 What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

I think cute characters challenge me the most, I find it difficult to portray them. But I think every armor cosplay of mine was somewhat challenging, because those armors are often heavy or uncomfortable. It’s hard to pose properly then haha
I think I like it the most to wear my selfdesigned costume like my two custom Ahri versions (Goddess Ahri& War-Mistress Ahri) and my Glaceon costume, because I can say that it is 100% by me. At least except the common characteristics that I have to stick to, in order for the costume to be recognizable as an Ahri/Glaceon costume haha

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

At first I look for good references and make a list what exactly I have to do (so that I don’t miss a part). Honestly after that I just start over with the part that I feel like to make at first, which are usually the armor parts (if there are some). Then I just go through it chronologically- so nothing special about that 😀

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I think those would be Dokomi and GamesCom.
Dokomi was the first convention that I ever attended and I the location is really awesome for taking photos.
GamesCom is amazing because there are a lot of people, i hardly could walk a few metres without being asked for photos haha. It was exhausting but also really great, I met a lot of nice people and it’s great to see people smile, when they can take a picture together with a cosplayer, who cosplays their favorite character

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

There was a girl who really liked my costumes, she was so happy to see me and nearly cried, she kept on telling me that I am her idol and that she really wanted to see me, that was soooo cute and somewhat overwhelming- I didn’t expect that reaction after all ! But because of that it was a really memorable moment 🙂

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

Of course it becomes a bit tiring, but that doesn’t mean that it stops making fun !
The most important thing is that a photographer should ask politely before taking pictures, cosplayers are human beings after all haha. It’s not that much fun being photographed while eating or talking with some friends

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

I think I learned to organise my daily life a bit better, because in order to be able to pursue cosplay the way I do I need to do that, it consumes a lot of time after all.
Furthermore I was able to get to know a lot of different people and make some incredible nice friends ! It pushes ones self-confidence to receive positive feedback for what they do too. Cosplaying encourages you to try a lot of new things, I think that’s a very positive thing !

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Most people think really long about their first costume, they are not sure which character they shall cosplay first, don’t overthink that too much, start off with an easy costume of one of your favorite characters.
It doesn’t has to be perfect, the experience and the memories that you create with your friends count !
I would start off with a bought one, you can test whether the whole cosplay-experience is your cup of tea or not !

Photography by:

Marcel Fotografie – https://www.facebook.com/Marcel-Fotografie-364277827091443
Ruffys Fotografie – https://www.facebook.com/Ruffysfotografie
Final Shot Photography – https://www.facebook.com/Final.Shot.Photography.Kirill.Kaisou

Web Links:

Facebook:-         www.facebook.com/KITSUNE.Cosplay
DeviantArt –      http://kyrakitsune.deviantart.com/
Twitter-              https://twitter.com/xK_ITSUN_E
Twitch-               http://www.twitch.tv/kyrakitsune
Worldcosplay- http://worldcosplay.net/member/K-ITSUN-E

Leave a Reply

