Tegasaurusrex – Cosplay Feature

With the huge success of comic books hitting the big screen, it’s brought about a lot of people into the world of cosplay.  Tegan has cosplayed as both X-23 and the Scarlet Witch, two brilliant characters, so we set out to find out more! Read on.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

My name is Tegan, I’m a 20-something medical assistant.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I liked making my own Halloween costumes as a kid, and I love anime and video games so it sort of fell together when I grew up.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate toward and why?

I love characters with big personalities. Even if a character’s look is amazing, I don’t find them appealing to cosplay since I like really getting into the character.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

Most challenging was The Scarlet Witch in her classic comic outfit, just because there are so many unique pieces to it. The most enjoyable cosplay was definitely a Psycho from Borderlands 2. It was a blast walking around Phoenix Comicon as such an outrageous character.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

I spend a lot of time laying every detail out on paper, I try to be as accurate as possible. Once I know what I need, I usually go through my old cosplay/crafting closet and see if anything is already there. From there, it’s just about buying, sewing, altering, or creating each individual piece. I like to give myself at least 6 months for each cosplay. I’m currently working on a female Kratos cosplay, which involves mostly sewing and fabric paint.

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I’ve only attended Phoenix Comicon since I started cosplaying.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

No…sorry 😦

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I’ve never been anything less than excited to pose for a picture with someone or for a photographer. Having my work documented and appreciated is an amazing feeling. I’m grateful and lucky to have never encountered a rude photographer. Generally, as long as I’m not very obviously busy (re-applying makeup, fixing a wig, eating, etc), a simple “Hey, can I take your picture?” is just fine.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

I’ve made friends with people I wouldn’t otherwise know just because we’re part of online cosplaying groups. The community is so great, it’s hard to cosplay and not find new friends.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

JUST DO IT. I read so many excuses, “I don’t look like the character, my cosplay isn’t well done, everyone cosplays as the character I like already, no one will recognize me, etc”. It doesn’t matter if your costume is store bought or made from scratch, if you’re the perfect twin of the character or look completely different…the experience is what makes cosplay fun. Every time an excuse pops into your head, kick it out and move forward. Also, don’t be afraid to start small. Follow an online tutorial of how to do a make-up look, or build a piece of a costume. Just doing little things will help you get amped up to do even bigger costumes and take more risks. Treat it like any other hobby – spend time doing it because you find joy in it.

Web Links:

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/heytegan/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/tegasaurusrex

Leave a Reply

