Crashqueen Cosplay -Cosplay Feature

I’ve seen an Ahri cosplay before, but it’s not an easy costume to do, or certainly the cosplayer who I spoke to before had struggled with the tails.  But recently, I’ve seen a superb Ahri courtesy of Emma, and of course we wanted to find out more about this brilliant cosplay 🙂

Hello 🙂 thank you for taking the time to interview me!

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m Emma, in 25, and I’m from Manchester UK. I’ve been cosplaying since about July 2014 and have fallen in love with it! I worked full time as an assistant manager of a tropical fish store.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I have always been into comics, anime and video games especially, so I had been to a few comic cons without cosplaying as far back as about 2011. I had always wanted to because it looked amazing fun, but I was too shy to actually do it for myself and my friends were not particularly into cosplaying, so it wasn’t until I met my other half in July 2014 that he had cosplayed before me 🙂 so I decided to join him in it and haven’t looked back since!

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I always pick characters that I know and love, for example, in League of Legends, I would never cosplay a character that I didn’t own or play with! I just simply pick my favourites and go from there, my favourite pokemon etc. As long as I can make the costume as much as possible, I will give it a go. Thinking of it I don’t think I have a type! But maybe someone else would think differently!

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

I find that League characters are quite challenging, Jinx has a very long (and painful) wig, and little clothing so It was difficult being quite exposed but she was amazing to be for the day, just a little crazy! Ahri has been my most fun as she made me feel amazing in costume! Even if the tails were a little painful by the end of the day!

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

I am.not one to buy cosplays as I prefer to make them, it’s like a hobby 🙂 but I will take and modify existing clothing to make them fit! For example Ahri is made from a bodysuit that I have cut and trimmed to become her clothing, the side panels are made out of thick foam, the gauntlets and boots are out of thin foam, the tails are some great quality fur around a wooden base that sits on a military belt around my hips, then on a wire frame so that they are pose-able and sway naturally when I walk! I’m not usually one to plan, I like to dive right in a test things and see what works!

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I always love London MCM and try to go twice a year, the turnout is amazing, the cosplays are fantastic and people travel from all over the world to go there! Which means friends from around the country are there too so I get to see those people! The only downside is that it is quite far to travel, but it is worth it!

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

There have been a couple, but the best was cosplaying a warrior version of Ariel, I was sat waiting for my other half to finish a shoot and little kids were coming up to me asking for photos and thanking me and calling me Ariel, they were so excited! It made my day because they were so happy to see a princess!

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I never get tired at all! I have worked so hard for months, so I like to have pictorial evidence of it! It’s always exciting to receive pictures back after a convention because there are some amazing photographers out there and some I feel honoured by shooting with them! I feel excited knowing that my cosplay is something that they want to take pictures of! As for approaching me, as long as you ask it’s absolutely fine, there are a few pictures out there that have been taken without me knowing which look terrible, the only exception is when someone is photographing a meet! I will always say yes to being photographed 🙂

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

I have made some fantastic friends from cosplaying and gained a new hobby, I enjoy creating things and working to make costumes, I’m still in my early days of it and I’m far from being at an amazing lever but I believe I will get there eventually! So it has had a very positive impact on my life 🙂

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

It’s a case of just going out there and doing it, maybe starting off with a casual cosplay to begin with if you’re worried (I started with misty from pokemon) and it’s all about enjoying yourself, do what makes you happy!

Web Links:

Facebook – www.facebook.com/battleroyalboycrashqueenbaby
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/crashqueenbaby_cosplay/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/crashqueenbaby

Leave a Reply

