Sonicboom Cosplay – Cosplay Feature

Studio1314

I saw a photo of Dragonslayer Ornstein from Dark Souls, and I thought it was an awesome new official model or something.  Then it slowly dawned on me that this was actually a cosplayer, and his handy work was utterly amazing.  It’s an incredibly original cosplay too, it’s certainly not something I’ve seen before.  Dave was good enough to speak to us about his cosplaying J

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

So my name’s Dave (aka Sonicboom Cosplay) and I live in Rochford, Essex, working as a manager of R.S.Bookbinders.  I’m a big fan of all things nerdy and currently in the middle of making a gaming room in my new place 🙂

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

About 4-5 years ago I went my first MCM comic con (not in costume!) and was immediately blown away as I’d never seen anything like it! I remember going up to people asking if I could get a picture of them, but thinking in my head “I am going to be one of these people one day…”

I remember seeing an awesome looking Brotherhood of Steel costume floating around the internet a few years back and that was the main inspiration to do my own. Which was then my first major cosplay.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

Usually I go for whatever obsession I have at the time. At the time of the Brotherhood costume I was playing a LOT of fallout 3 (so much so that I only left myself 3 weeks to make the costume!). Ornstein just looks badass so it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while.

I also like to try a different skill on each costume I do, so I’ve done fibreglass, sewing, carpentry and now worbla! I’m aiming for electronics and mechanics next.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

The most challenging by far was the Brotherhood of Steel power armour. It was about 10 metres of fibreglass, 12kg of resin and about 230 sheets of card I had to cut out by hand as the whole thing was made using pepakura! It was a mega rush job and I never test fitted it so the knee cut into me during comic con (still have the scar from it!)

Most enjoyable has been my most recent one, Dragonslayer Ornstein from Dark Souls. It was a challenge to make in the 2 weeks I left myself with but it’s something I’m proud of and the feedback I’ve received has been tremendous and has given me immense motivation to really push and challenge myself on future projects.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

So the brotherhood costume was made using pepakura, which is a program that breaks down 3D models into pieces you can cut out of card and assemble into models. I then fibreglassed the inside then coated the outside in car body filler which is then sanded and painted.

Ornstein’s helmet was made in the same way for accuracy and I 3D printed the face.

The majority of Ornstein was made using plastazote foam and worbla, which is a thermoplastic you heat up with a heatgun and you can wrap around the foam to shape. You can reuse all the scraps and it sticks to itself so no glue needed! (Very tidy workshop!) Worbla has always looked difficult to me after seeing the incredible costumes that have been made with it but after giving it a go I’ve realised how easy it is!

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

The main one is MCM Expo London. I have been to LFCC and LSCC. But the sheer amount of people and variation in amazing cosplays is the main reason I go. It’s great to see people’s work and also talk to people to get ideas and understand how they made their costume.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

My absolute favourite was when I cosplayed as Green Arrow. I was walking along until a little boy ran up to me and grabbed my leg. The mum kept apologising “I’m so sorry he just loves arrow!” So I put his hood up (it was red!) and gave him my bow and his mum got a few snaps. Awesome little dude

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I love it! It’s why I do what I do 🙂 although I am usually in agony from posing awkwardly at the end of the day.

If I am standing there posing already I don’t mind people just coming up and taking a snap, I think the only annoying part is if I’m standing there having a drink or a rest or something and someone takes a photo then. They could wait 20 seconds and have a proper one! But I was just having a chat with my girlfriend saying pretty much every person at expo was really polite.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

I think the main thing is the self esteem boost to be honest. To have recognition of something I have put a lot of time and effort into, and also recognition from myself. Nothing beats standing there after you’ve just finished your costume, looking at it and going “wow… I made that.”

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Don’t even think about it! Just do it! (Thanks Shia.) A lot of people were saying to me “I could never make anything like that!” And my response was always if I can do it anyone can.

I find most people give themselves a reason to put it off and keep procrastinating. Browse Google, pick up a pen and draw some ideas then grab some materials and glue and start making! You don’t need a workshop or anything. Check out Kenny Chan Cosplay, that dude makes his costumes in his bedroom!

A lot of cosplayers are really friendly guys and gals and are usually more than willing to give help and advice to those wishing to get in on the action 🙂

Web Links:

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/sonicboomcosplay

Photo Credit to http://studio1314.co.uk/ for Dragonslayer Ornstein
Photo Credit to https://m.facebook.com/RossSiggersPhotography/ for Brotherhood of Steel

2 comments

Leave a Reply

