Humpasaurus – Cosplay Feature

I saw a photo of Alyson Lee Hannigan, only it wasn’t.  Instead it was an incredible bit of cosplay by “Humpasaurus”, and the likeness was uncanny.  Amy was very good in taking some time out to answer our questions, find out more about this terrific cosplayer.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Sure! My Name is Amy but my cosplay name is Humpasaurus. I’m UK based cosplayer but I’m also a fine artist, so I balance my time between the two.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I went to MCM Birmingham in 2014 for the first time and I saw a lot of people dressed up in cosplay. I was there to meet actors and buy comics but I was really inspired by the costumes. I’d also seen the rise of cosplay in social media and was wowed by the effects achieved with makeup, foam, wigs etc.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I gravitate to the games, films and series’ I love. But within that I do lean towards the characters I know I would find it easier to portray. Usually these are my favourite characters anyway – but I find my cosplays work better if I can use makeup and wigs to alter my appearance.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

Batgirl was the most challenging to build. It was my first time with armour but it won’t be my last. But putting her on was the most memorable for me. I had wanted to cosplay the New 52 version for years so that was a dream come true. I love getting into character with Vampire Willow and Ivy too, they’re both sassy and I like that about a character.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

They’re all so different. Some have been a mad rush of sewing and finding bits and bobs of material. Batgirl was a full armour build with foam and worbla. Other cosplays like Velma and Hermione were a case of finding bits of clothing and putting it all together.

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

LSCC 2016 was a great one. It was the first time I really got to get to know the rest of the community. Also there was a lot of hype after taking Willow out for another test drive and that was good. Though I did dislocate my knee the Saturday evening…. but we’ll forget that happened!

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

Obvious one would be the Buffy fandom getting hold of my Willow pictures. Meeting James Marsters was a very emotional moment for me, because his reaction to my costume was priceless. I cried so much!!

Also I recently had a little girl approach me as Phoenix and she was in the same costume. I don’t know who was more excited to see the other.

13119798_493846977473988_6333470684039543547_o

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I don’t mind posing for the photos, I know some great photographers and I enjoy working for them. It’s nice to get appreciation for the work you’ve put into the cosplay. What I dislike is people snapping you without asking. The ones with the zoom lenses who take photos of you eating a sandwich. I’ve seen some awful photos of me when I was caught unaware – it’s such an unprofessional thing to do.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

I feel part of something massive. It can be a tough community to be in at time, particularly explaining it to friends that don’t understand my hobby at all. But meeting like minded people, who love the same things as you and totally get it, is wonderful. I have mate lifelong friends through cosplay and it’s been worth every minute.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

I wish I could answer this with a Shia LeBeouf GIF. But yeah just do it! It’s worth it. If you’ve thought about it chances are you’ll love it, and you’ll never look back. We all start somewhere, we all improve, so give it a go! 🙂

Photography Credits:

Batman Cosplay by The Have A Go Hero (Photo by Carlos Adama Photography)
Vampire Willow Photo by Tascha Dearing Art
Snow White Photo by Kyle McVean Photography
Hermione Photo by Humpasaurus
Velma Photo by Tascha Dearing Art

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/humpasaurus
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/humpasaurus/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/amyhumps

Leave a Reply

