Cosplay Feature – Juriet

Juriet is incredibly creative, but also wonderful to chat to and very kind in agreeing to our interview.  Her talent is obvious and we love her cosplays.  In particular the photograph of Ciri on horseback was awesome, so of course we had to find out more!

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

Hey! My name is Juriet, I come from the Czech republic and I’m studying at grammar school. I’ve been cosplaying since 2013. I’m a huge animal lover, I own one grumpy cat and love dogs and horses. One of my aims is to study graphic design and to give lectures to new cosplayers from my country.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

Honestly? The internet. I’ve been spending hours watching series and playing videogames.  When I decided to go to the convention I saw some pictures of cosplayers, and I loved the idea of making the character real! Since I was a child, I was really really creative. (I painted our oven with butter once.) So I went creative again and I can’t stop now!

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I love carefree characters, just being happy and cheering people up is great. But I find the roleplaying very important, so when I’m in a certain character, I try to act just like it. I don’t mind sad or serious characters, because I can find a part of them in myself.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

The most challenging was probably Alice Liddell, because the costume has so many details! All the stripes, a lot of leather, corset, and the hobby horse!  Also Ciri from The Witcher was difficult for me to make, but it’s also the most enjoyable character ever. I grew up while reading the books and Ciri was always the same age as me. It’s just amazing to become her.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

It all starts, when I play a new game. There is always someone I’d like to cosplay. The first and also the longest part is the planning. Thinking about materials, patterns, props… Then there is the fabric hunt! It’s a little bit difficult to get all the supplies I need here in my country. Also, I always have to order a wig and contact lenses a long time in advance. Once I have everything I need, I start to craft and sew. Thank god, I have a garden where I can make a mess!

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

Once, I was invited as a guest to Lithuania, where an amazing convention, NowJapan, is held. That was an unforgettable experience! Besides that, there is a convention called Animefest in my country, which is the biggest event of a year.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

Yea, I remember one nice girl. She told me I brightened her day when she wanted to take a picture with me and I lent her a sword. That was so cute!

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

Sometimes, when the weather is angry at us, the shoot can be a bit frustrating. But in most cases it’s  great fun! It makes me happy when a photographer asks me for a photo. The best way to arrange a photoshoot is always personally, of course. But it’s perfectly fine when someone writes me and asks for my time. I really enjoy the collaboration with a photographer.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

It taught me to be more collective and to accept criticism. That’s an important thing to learn, because only than you can improve your skills!

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

The beginnings are always tough, but the hard work pays off! And one important thing – don’t do it for fame. Do it for fun! That’s what cosplaying is supposed to be! 🙂

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/JurietCosplay/
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/juriet_cosplay/

Leave a Reply

