Cosplay Feature – Tetchy Tact

What first drew my attention to the awesome Tetchy Tact, was, the Tusken Raider outfit she did, followed by the Elderwood Bard.  In part this is down to me loving Star Wars, but also, I haven’t seen many people do the Elderwood Bard, so that was a new one.  Thrown into the mix is Tetchy Tact being lovely to talk to and willing to help  people out, which epitomises the Cosplay Community.  We’re also incredibly honoured that she did a video answering one of our questions, which is utterly brilliant 🙂

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m a 23-year-old who graduated from UCSB in 2 and 1/2 years. After graduating, I need to make moolah so immediately sought out a job and started working full-time. That leaves little time for fun, but I try to fit it in as much as possible…and that largely shows through my cosplay! I play a lot of videogames, draw, read, and sleep.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I have always loved dressing up. Every holiday I’d wear a themed costume to school, much to my friends’ embarrassment. Halloween is the best holiday by far. Off of that point, I also dabbled in wanting to design clothing and drew constantly. That pointed me in the direction of sewing!

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I gravitate towards videogame characters. More specifically, League of Legends champions. Because I love League– even the community 😉

Tetchytact 5

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

Elderwood Bard (from League of Legends) was the most tough because it was my first trial with worbla (the thermoplastic) as well as a full mask. I was extremely satisfied when I finished him, but was disappointed at the reception. People weren’t very interested; pretty girls are more interesting, I suppose. No blame there, I can see why haha! I always have fun dressing like Snake (from Metal Gear) because I can sneeeaak around at the convention and act all gruff. It’s a blast. Other than that, I really like being Zatanna (from DC) because she’s just a fun character!

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

First I find the exact thing I’m going to make– for instance, I need to decide if I’m basing it off of something, or if I’m going to be doing my own version. Then I determine how much I can make myself, or what I’ll need to buy. Then I estimate costs and time I’ll need to put into it, and then I get to work! That last part of getting to work is the most difficult part, mostly because finding time to do it is so tough. But I try!

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

Fanime has been the most fun for me because it’s close by to where I live (woo central Cali!) and a lot of my friends attend it. I also like the mix of videogames, anime, comics, etc. It’s got a lot going for it.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

When I was dressed as Blademistress Morgana (from League of Legends) I got into a sort of role-play thing with a few other League Champion cosplayers where we were pretending to be the champions and having a mock-fight. It was a blast. That’s the sort of thing that’s so fun! You get to pretend you’re not your boring-ol-human-self.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I love it when photographers approach me. It makes me feel as if, “Wow! They think I’m worth being photographed? They like me?” I guess it’s a form of self-validation, and I’m total fine with that as long as it’s harmless. I haven’t had a terrible experience with a photographer yet, and I always appreciate when photographers are up-front. In fact, a lot of the friends I have now are photographers I’ve met that either I’ve gone up to, or they’ve come up to me. And they’re super duper awesome.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

It has really shaped the people I hang out with. Like with my last answer, it’s created a whole new group of friends…cosplayers, artists, photographers…the whole shebang. I have a lot of creative people to bounce ideas off of and to hang out with, and it’s really incredible.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Definitely. Actually, I made a youtube video about it! Here you go:

But, to review, plan ahead, don’t take it too seriously, and go slow!

I’ll leave you with a joke (because I love them): So what if I can’t spell Armageddon…it’s not the end of the world. Haaaaaaaaa.

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/TetchyTact/
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/tetchytact/
Twitter – https://twitter.com/TetchyTact
Twitch.tv – https://www.twitch.tv/tetchytact
Tumblr – http://tetchytact.tumblr.com/
DeviantArt – http://tetchytact.deviantart.com/

Leave a Reply

