Captain America: Civil War (12A)

captainart

“He’s my friend”
“So was I”

Watching the trailer those two lines sold me the whole film, I didn’t need all the other marketing, but I wasn’t complaining. Now it’s here, and I’m speechless. I don’t know where to begin, at the start I guess, now, I’m not going to be able to do this without referring to the comics, so Spoilers for the comics but NOT for the movie, I’m not that cruel.

The film opens on a scene that echo’s throughout the movie, serving finally as a catalyst at a crucial moment in the film, but I won’t go into detail about that, I can say you can tell the Russo’s are in charge here, the whole movie has that Winter Soldier “political thriller” theme and it fits perfectly, after the opening titles we get our own version of the “Stamford event” which comic fans will recognise as the event that started the original war. This is the first time we see the new Avengers in action and it’s great to see them working like a well-oiled machine.

From this point onwards there’s escalation and the Russo’s do a great job at making sure we see both sides of the argument while also keeping this feeling very much like a Captain America movie, it may have contained almost all of the established MCU characters but make no mistake, this was Captain America 3, not Avengers 2.5 like many feared. The emotional balance of the movie was also weighted perfectly, you really felt for each character, they all their chance in the spotlight, and you felt for them all, no one was forgotten.

The humour that we’ve all come to expect from Marvel wasn’t missing either, and it wasn’t out of place, both Ant-Man and Spidey acted as comic relief and they performed excellently, I definitely think Spidey’s humour fit better into the movie but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t great to see Scott fan girl over meeting team cap.

Captain-America-Civil-War

Which brings me on to arguably the most anticipated part of the movie, Spiderman and his MCU debut. I won’t say much, but I will say Tom Holland nailed it as Spidey and peter, and anyone who was worried they’d screw it up again can relax, Spidey’s home, and unlike everyone around Luke in empire, I hear no complaints.

Is this Marvels best film yet? Personally I still much prefer Guardians of the Galaxy, but having said that, Civil war definitely beats out the rest coming in at a solid second place and a 10/10 from me. Its full of surprises and definitely a better superhero beat down than Batman Vs Superman was, I mean, Civil War actually had a well-developed story and natural progression, that said, I feel like neither film quite got the ending right, while Civil War felt far more natural and progressive than Batsy Vs Supes I think they both rushed into their respective endings, But don’t take my word for it, go watch it yourself and make up your own mind.

I’d love to write more but I want you all to go out and watch it yourselves, so I’m going to leave it here and go bed.

#teamcap

Leave a Reply

