Cosplay Feature – Valkyrian Knight Cosplay

Not only have we not seen a cosplay quite like this one, the level of detail and attention is staggering.  The end result is utterly spellbinding.  Of course, we had to find out more about this awesome cosplayer:

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I love to travel, learn new things and Cosplay! I started cosplaying in the summer of 2015 after going to my first convention; Fan Expo Vancouver with my brother. I loved that people could dress up in costumes and you could meet so many people who share the same interests as you.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

I was inspired by going to my first convention! Seeing the amazing costumes people could make and how passionate they were about getting others involved. Everyone was so friendly, it really opened up my world 🙂

Are there specific types of characters that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

I really like armored and fantasy characters, mixing the two is even better! I have also found a love of making large props, and I intend to do more of those in the future. I really love the process of crafting new things and seeing how they turn out, if other people like it, thats the cherry on top for me.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

I have only made two characters so far, my first was a craft foam version of an original design of a Valkyrie. I was getting used to the materials and the crafting process and my second is my current Worbla Valkyrie. I would say I haven’t done an easy cosplay yet LOL but my Worbla Valkyrie has definitely been my most challenging and most enjoyable. I have learned so many new things since I started to cosplay and it has been so worthwhile for me.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

So far my cosplays have been original designs, so I would start off by researching images for my costumes, to give me inspiration to design the Pauldrons, breastplate, shinguards etc. I would draw up designs until I was happy with one and then I would start building a base piece. I would keep adding on to the base until it looked like my drawings. Since I was so new to crafting I can’t stress enough how many hours I dedicated to just researching; how to work with Worbla, painting techniques, craft foam tutorials, all things like that. I know it made me a better cosplayer and I plan on making some videos on how I made my Worbla Valkyrie.

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I would say my most enjoyable convention so far has been Emerald City Comic Con. Its my first international convention and I went with my two best friends! I entered into the Western Championships of Cosplay and won 3rd place in the Armor Category! This has really motivated me into being better and doing more amazing costumes, so one day I will win 1st place.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

I love how kids react to my Valkyrie, some of them get really shy but I rememeber this one little girl who was very timid and approched me slowly, she reached out her hand and when I took it in my gauntlet, she smiled and looked back at her mother. That was a really cool moment.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I think getting photos taken of you is part of the experience of Cosplaying. I prefer photographers asking for photos before taking them, so you can pose for the shots and give them the best look for your costume, but if you want to rest, eat or just sit down you can ask them to meet you somewhere after for photos.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

Cosplaying has made a huge impact on my life, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love that I found a new and exciting creative outlet and that so many others share this passion. I have made so many new friends and I feel more self-confident about myself and my ideas. 10/10 would recommend.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Research, research and more research. I’ve had alot of people be very surprised that I’m so new to cosplay and yet I made something like my Worbla Valkyrie, I am crazy proud of that cosplay. Its possible for anyone to make something cool and amazing, they just need to learn from other people’s mistakes and make a few themselves.

Web Links:

Facebook Fan page: https://www.facebook.com/Valkyrian-Knight-Cosplay-1453671264950692/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/valkyrian_knight_cosplay/
Currently making a brand new Youtube channel @ Valkyrian Knight Cosplay

Leave a Reply

