Cosplay Feature – Annissë

We were super impressed by Annissë’s Silk Spectre Cosplay which looked ridiculously awesome!  In fact now we know why it looks so awesome, read on!

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

My name is Annissë. I reside in Los Angeles, CA. I am a self taught costume designer and seamstress. I have been making my own costumes and cosplaying for the past 20 years. I try my best to accurately recreate comic book, anime, artwork and movie characters to the best of my ability.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

One of my 1st cosplays was Iris Shaw from the comic book The Crow: Flesh and Blood. I love The Crow movie and graphic novel. I was inspired to make this costume to attend my 1st comic book convention at the San Diego Comic Con International in 1999. From there on my life was changed in cosplay forever.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

Not really, I get inspired by artwork, comic books or movies I see then want to recreate the costume to cosplay in at Comic book conventions.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

My most challenging, which all my costumes I made have been a challenge, was my WATCHMEN Silk Spectre II latex cosplay. That was my 1st time recreating a costume in latex. I made the pattern from scratch which was very complicated. I am very proud of this costume as I acquired the bolt of latex that was actually used to make the Watchmen movie costume. I am the only one in the world that has successfully recreated this costume to its accuracy that I know of.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

This is a very broad question as all of my costumes I have made, there have been at least 100, have used different types of materials and fabrics. I like work with non traditional fabrics such as vinyl, leather, latex sheeting. I have made props from sculpting to casting in resin or latex. I shop for most of my fabrics either online or in the fabric district of Downtown Los Angeles and spend many hours trying to find the perfect materials. I am a perfectionist 😉

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

I have attended the San Diego Comic Con International since 1999. I loved it up until about 2009, every year it gets more and more out of control with the crowds and since then has made it hard to cosplay in the exhibitor halls, I have more fun wandering around outside and taking photos. I have attended Anime Expo, Anime Los Angeles, Wizard World Anaheim, WonderCon both in SF and now in LA, Long Beach Comic Con, LA Cosplay Con and my most favorite to date DragonCon which is my absolute favorite because its all about the fans, cosplaying and partying 24/7 😀

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

Hmmmm none that I can specifically remember, I really do impress everyone with my works and that is what I always remember with each of my creations.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I love being photographed, never gets tiring to have someone take my photo in my cosplays. As long as a photographer comes up to me and politely asks for a photo then I have no problem posing.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

It changed my life from day one when I started cosplaying in 1999. I have made many long lasting life friends who have inspired me to keep creating and be the best that I can be when I attend a convention in costume. There is nothing like the cosplay life and I wouldn’t want it any different. Cosplay is my life.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Just go for it! Don’t be shy. If you don’t know how to go about making something, there are plenty of tutorials at your resource online. Which is how I went about learning how to make most of my costumes. If you see a character that inspires you to want to make the costume and get out there and cosplay, nothing is stopping you, but you, your imagination is limitless.

Web Links:
Leave a Reply

