Cosplay Feature – duoqcosplay

We speak to one of the members of Duoqcosplay, Kat, to find out more about her awesome cosplay.  When we saw Kat’s work we were blown away,and are grateful for her in taking time out to answer our questions.

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I am a cosplayer from the United States and an Art student this is only about my third year taking cosplay seriously so I am still learning new things everyday. Each costume I make gets better and better with the more new things I try and I am excited for making more costumes in the future.

What or who inspired you to Cosplay?

Cosplay mostly started out as something fun I did with my friends when I was younger but as I got older and saw all these amazing costume makers online such as; Jessica Nigri, Yaya Han, Kamui Cosplay etc. I thought to myself “Well why don’t I do that too?” and since then I have been working hard to be the best I can be.

Are there specific types of character that you particularly gravitate towards and why?

Certain characters that appeal to me have to meet a few different specifications, I have to like the character or be attached to them in some way, the costume has to have an appealing design, and I always try and have at least one or two challenging aspects that I have never done before.

What for you have been the most challenging characters that you’ve cosplayed as, and which have been the most enjoyable?

The most challenging costume I have made so far was Vi from League of Legends. Not only was the costume bulky, hot and uncomfortable, Vi has a lot of little details in her costume along with lots of complicated armor, and the gauntlets! Vi was the first major costume I made from scratch so that was another complicated aspect of it. I would love to go back and remake the costume now that I have learned more but I have so many new ideas I doubt I will ever get to it. As for the costume that was the most enjoyable to cosplay.

Could you take us through a little on how you made your outfits?

I try and start with as many reference pictures as possible so I can see the costume from every angle. Other cosplayers take on the costume and their process pictures can also be super helpful so you can learn from others triumphs and mistakes so I look at their photos too for reference. Once I have all my pictures together I try and do some research on what I can buy/alter and what I will need to make from scratch and make a list of all the costume elements. From there it’s pretty simple construction of putting the pieces together.

Which Conventions have been the most enjoyable for you to attend and why?

My favorite convention is Sakura-Convention in Seattle Washington. The con is close to home, has a great atmosphere, awesome cosplay community, and above all else is just fun from start to finish with stuff happening 24 hours each day of the convention. There is even a masquerade ball and 2 Raves with numerous DJs.

Have there been any memorable reactions to your costumes, and if so, what were they?

I can’t really think of any reaction being more memorable than another but overall it is great to see all your hard work pay off when people get excited and want to take your picture or get a photo with you. I work for months on my costumes so to see peoples reactions to them is an amazing feeling and makes me want to work even harder next time. I wouldn’t have the confidence to cosplay without the awesome support I have received from my family, friends, followers, and other convention goers.

A question about photographers. Obviously cosplayers are a dream come true for photographers, great outfits and poses, does it ever get a bit tiring having to pose endlessly for them, and how do you prefer to be approached by a photographer?

I love getting photos back of my costumes and without these photos cosplayers would have nothing to show on their pages for their followers so they are super important. That being said photo shoots are incredibly stressful and tiring. You have to make it to the shoot on time, your costume has to look perfect for the photos and often times the costumes are uncomfortable to wear so standing and posing for and extended period of time can be rough but in the end it as all worth it. I love the excitement con goers get when they love my costume and want a photo of me so I have a really hard time saying no to photos but sometimes all I want to do is sit and eat some lunch or walk to a photo shoot without the interruptions but I always try and stop and make time for photos. The best thing to do when asking a cosplayer for a photo is to just walk up and ask them politely.

What impact has cosplaying had on your life?

Well cosplay certainly takes up most of my free time and money. I’m a sucker when it comes to cosplay supplies and I have spent more money than I would like to admit on fabric. Cosplay is my hobby and it is something I think about all the time. I am constantly planning out costumes or thinking of a solution to a costume problem even when I’m not working on it.

Do you have any advice for anybody thinking of cosplaying?

Just go for it! The best way to get into cosplay is to just dive in. I have had amazing help from the cosplay community with any questions or struggles I have. Try and reach out and talk to cosplayers you like many love giving out tips and advice. Another thing to keep in mind when you are first beginning is to not let yourself compare yourself to other more experienced cosplayers. You aren’t going to be the best when you first start and cosplay is hard so just keep working at it!

Web Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/duoqcosplay/

Leave a Reply

