Myuu – Interview

One of our collective did this interview last year, so we thought we’d ressurect it!

Myuu

With the year speeding on by and Halloween fast approaching I put some questions to renowned CreepyPasta pianist Myuu.

So why is it that you decided to take up the piano – was it something your family had suggested for you or had you been inspired to by another musicians work?

I started around elementary school. I am not sure anymore how old I was back then, I suppose 7-8 years. I have two sisters who took piano lessons for a while, then they stopped playing because we moved to another town. One of my sisters wanted to take lessons again and my parents asked if I wanted to try it out too. I was like “sure, why not!”.

At first I enjoyed playing the piano but then I lost some interest when I hit puberty. A lot of classical piano lessons so it wasn’t “cool” at all as a teenager. When I was around 17 years old, I said to my (former) teacher that I needed a break and had to find what I really like about playing this instrument. I took all the sheet music stuff away and started learning songs by ear for the first time in like, 10 years. The music of Silent Hill 2 was one of the triggers for that. I couldn’t find sheet music for these songs on the internet but I really wanted to play them so I had no other choice than learning it by ear. Thanks to Silent Hill (Akira Yamaoka) I finally found the genre I loved playing and wanted to pursue – Dark Piano.

Do you have a personal favourite song to play?

I never stick to one song for too long and I always try that my next composition is my current favorite. This also applies to other songs. At the moment I play a lot of anime & video game music such as Attack on Titan and Castlevania.

Have you ever came across something you’ve found difficult to play either when composing or learning a piece, and if so how did you overcome the challenge?

When I learn a song I start learning it very slowly, if it’s necessary each hand separately. I also recommend this to anyone who wants to practice a new song. You should start learning each hand on its own first and only if you feel comfortable with it play with both hands (but again play it in a very slow tempo). Do not rush! Seriously, don’t do it. It won’t help.

I do the same when I have a song in my head but can’t play it accurately yet. I note down the original tempo (sometimes I even hum it to my phone’s recording app or I record a very rough sketch just to be safe to not lose the inspiration), then I use a metronome, setting it to a slower speed, and learn the song. I increase the speed as soon as I feel comfortable with it.

I know you’ve played a few live shows in the past; would you ever consider a tour?

I really would love to! If I had the opportunity, I would tour everywhere! It’s also one of my milestone goals on my Patreon page (http://patreon.com/myuuji).

I feel each of your songs has a unique personality and tells a different story. It’s well known your music is used to great effect in CreepyPasta narrations. When composing do you envision personal stories for each song or leave it to the listeners imagination?

I want to leave it to the listener’s imagination. I see a lot of creative people in my YouTube comments. I appreciate reading their stories and personal experiences they have with the music.

There’s only one song I have told my personal story straight to everyone. It’s called “Home”.

Speaking of CreepyPastas, do you have a favourite story?

Varies from time to time but at the moment it’s somehow Laughing Jack. I keep finding myself humming “Pop Goes The Weasel” almost everyday!!

I was pleasantly surprised when I first heard you feature as a character in Mr. Creepy Pasta’s ‘Wanderer of the Dogscape’, I’ve since then heard you in a few other parts. What made you decide to give narrating a try?

People in the community asked me if I wanted to give it a shot. I was really nervous to do this to be honest. Fortunately Mr Creepy Pasta gave me a role of a german scientist, so I could deal with my german accent without any worries.

Have you ever tried any binaural audio horror games (Papa Sangre, The Nightjar) where there is only sounds with no visuals other than basic controls? How would you feel about scoring for such a game where your music would have to define the atmosphere with no visuals to help?

This sounds interesting. It’s the first time I hear about binaural games. I have to check them out! I’m always in for scoring a game though. Also: Playing video games is my huge passion right after making music.

Horror games are becoming more intense and realistic with titles like Until Dawn, PT (gone but not forgotten) and the various forthcoming virtual reality platforms.

Do you feel that in some ways the horror genre leans too hard on gruesome scenes and jump scares rather than subtlety?

I still can’t believe P.T.(Silent Hills) is gone. It looked so promising. Exactly the style of horror I always loved. We indeed had a lot of “action horror” games in the past instead of real “survival horror”, but with Alien: Isolation, the Resident Evil Remaster and announced games like the Resident Evil 2 Remake and Allison Road (spiritual successor to P.T.) I have high hopes for a better future (and we almost got a true Silent Hill sequel…).

Jumpscares can be pretty cheap and I don’t like the usual sudden “monster in your face” scenes. Five Nights at Freddy’s did a good job on this one though to be honest, because you only got the jumpscares if you weren’t good enough in the game. I prefer video games that play a lot with your mind, rather than showing the horror right in front of you. That’s probably why most movie adaptions of books fail miserably as well.

In your opinion what makes a truly great horror experience?

To see less and hear more.

Finally do you have any words to aspiring musicians or artists?

Be yourself. Don’t be a copy of someone else.
Be the first one and take every opportunity you can get.
Last but not least: Do not procrastinate.

Official website: http://myuu.de/
Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/myuuji
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/myuu
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/myuusic
Twitter: https://twitter.com/myuusic

Leave a Reply

