Summer City – Reprobates

 

Summer City are back with their new EP, Reprobates, and it’s a fine blend of Rock / Alternative / Electronic. Comparisons have been made to My Chemical Romance, Pendulum and Taking Back Sunday and when you listen to their new EP, it’s easy to see why those comparisons have been made and yet they’ve managed to retain their own sound.

Congratulations on the EP “Reprobates”, sounds awesome, how pleased are you with the final result?

Thank you! We couldn’t be more pleased. All three of us are really self critical, but I remember when we got the final masters and we heard it for the first time, we all just sat and smiled. It came out exactly how we wanted it to and we’re so proud.

It’s due for release on 22nd of April 2016, do you have any personal favourites on it yet, and if so what makes it for you?

Personally I’m really proud of “I’m A Wreck”. This whole record is incredibly personal lyrically, but it was this track in particular that I think I kind of expressed the way I feel a lot of the time the best. I think it’s also the song that musically sums up the record best, I think we got the best mix of electronics and guitars with that song.

Can you tell us about the themes of the tracks on “Reprobates”?

I think that the main theme of reprobates is lack of self-worth. I suffer from a lot of anxiety issues, so when I was writing this record I really tried to not hold anything back lyrically. There’s stuff about depression and self-harm, so I’ve actually been incredibly nervous about people hearing this record because I feel quite exposed, because it is all really personal stuff. But at the same time, I think that makes it a lot more real. It’s a very heartfelt record.

You’ve been busily working away for a while, but now with “Reprobates”, how do you feel you have developed both personally and as musicians, and how much of an impact has this had on your music?

I think we’ve done a lot of growing up with this record. The thing is, when we did the first E.P Six Good Reasons, we were kids when all that stuff was written, and we were still trying to figure out what kind of band we wanted to be. This record is a lot more cohesive, and a lot more mature, and I think that shows. But at the same time, I still think it sounds like us, and anyone who was into the first E.P will hopefully like this one just as much.

You’ve been compared to My Chemical Romance, Taking Back Sunday, Pendulum, Skrillex and Deadmau5. Do you mind those comparisons? Do you find them useful?

Those comparisons are very flattering, but one of the things we strive for in this band is to do our own thing. It’s always nice to be told you sound like your heroes, but the main thing we’re proud of with this band is that we do consider ourselves to sound quite unique. That said, being compared to MCR is probably the best compliment you could ever give us!

You’ve done a Periscope broadcast before, how useful are those for you, and how much fun do you have doing them? How do the fans react?

I have to give credit to Kit for that, it was entirely his idea! One of the great things about social media is that it’s brought fans closer than ever before to the bands, which for me is amazing. One of the things I love so much about alternative music is that it’s very inclusive, and there is a bond between bands and fans that you don’t get in any other genre. So being able to share things like rehearsals with our fans as its happening is really special.

What for you so far has been the best bit of advice you’ve been given, and did you listen to it?

For me, I think it was when we were recording the first E.P, and there was a section in a song that I wanted to put in, but I wasn’t sure we could get away with it because it was quite out there. One of the guys who was producing it then said to me, ‘that’s exactly why you should do it’. Pushing ourselves is something that all three of us in this band pride ourselves on, and we’ve never been afraid to think outside the box and try different things musically.

And what next for Summer City?

Playing as many shows as possible. Playing live is the reason you start a band, and because we’re so proud of this record, being able to share these songs with people is something that we’re really excited about.

Web Links:

Website – http://www.summercityband.com/
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/SummerCityBand
Twitter – https://twitter.com/summercityband
Youtube – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9lG2kk-ZsT0SIimHfPAXSA

Leave a Reply

